Hawkeye, Vol. 1: My Life as a Weapon by Matt Fraction

Hawkeye, Vol. 1: My Life as a WeaponHawkeye, Vol. 1: My Life as a Weapon by Matt Fraction

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This book was our group read on Superheroes and Comic Book Club for May 2016.  I read it on time but I’m a bit behind getting my review up.

I found Hawkeye to be a very likeable book but didn’t fall in love with it as others seemingly have. It kind of captures a day-in-the-life of a superhero feeling and pairs it with a stylized art style that works well with it.

One of the best things about the book is that it has some low key humor to it.  Like these Russian mobsters in their matching tracksuits that keep showing up, BRO.

screenshot_2016-06-28-08-47-42.png

The art style lacks detail but it’s impactful it’s own way.  I do like the impromptu costume that Katie dons here with the arrows sticking out all over her head… however I just don’t see how she’d be able to pull those arrows out and use them without pulling the whole wig off…

screenshot_2016-06-28-08-51-11.png

Because… Boomerangs!

screenshot_2016-06-28-08-52-34.png

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

