Natalie’s Wednesday in Comics 6/1/2016

New Comics:

Sooo… I liked DC Rebirth #1 so much that I decided to try going back to weekly pulls for my comics.  I’m not sure how long it’ll last but I plan on getting all the Rebirth #1s anyway.  I don’t really plan on doing reviews for every single comic I purchase because I prefer to review whole storylines but I thought I might rank the comics I get every week in the order that I enjoyed them the most and maybe point out anything that really stuck out as noteworthy.

Natalie’s Comic Rankings for 6/1/2016:

  1. Superman Rebirth #1

  2. Green Arrow Rebirth #1

  3. Green Lanterns Rebirth #1

  4. Batman Rebirth #1

Ok, honestly I liked all of these books, but Superman sparked more of an emotional response than the other books.  Green Arrow was a really nice one-shot and could be understood and enjoyed by pretty much anyone.  I don’t know how or when the two new Green Lanterns came into play but I’m really interested to find out more.  The Batman book was good but I’ve read so many Batman stories it’s really hard to impress me with this character.

Back Issues:

I also picked up a few comics from the dollar boxes and a variant cover of Grayson #11 that I’ve been looking for.  I’m one of those people who are quite happy to pick up and read random comics without having any other comics in the run.  I mean sure I enjoy having the whole thing but it doesn’t bother me not to.  This habit seems to strangely bug other people.

The Brave and the Bold [1991] #1 & #2  of a six issue limited series featuring Green Arrow, The Butcher, and The Question.  Some of the stereotypes of Indigenous Native American Tribes were sort of cringe worthy.  It also had several scenes with Dinah Lance aka Black Canary back in the days when she had short black hair and worked at Sherwood Florist.

I’ve been thinking about getting the Convergence trades that have the side stories.  I got this Batman and the Outsiders one to sample and it looked promising.  I think the whole series had like 80 issues though, and even assuming I can get them for $1 each that’s a lot of back issues to track down and buy.

The Shadow of the Bat issues was decent but nothing to write home about.

Well, that was my Wednesday in comics.  Think I might try doing this every week.

2 thoughts on “Natalie’s Wednesday in Comics 6/1/2016

Leave a Reply

