Batgirl, Vol. 2: Family Business by Cameron Stewart

Batgirl, Vol. 2: Family BusinessBatgirl, Vol. 2: Family Business by Cameron Stewart

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

The second volume of the relaunched Batgirl series contains BATGIRL #41-45, ANNUAL #3, and the Sneak Peek story from CONVERGENCE: INFINITY INC. #2. It’s all a bunch of uneventful guest appearances for the most part. I hated the two guest appearances by Dick Grayson which seemed to be out of character and stupid. The only overarching plot points I could detect were some very shallow and poorly executed side character romances.

To sum it up I’d call it mediocrity in pink. In my opinion you can skip this volume of Batgirl. It’s boring, banal, and trying to hard to be cutesy cutesy. Even the art was beginning to annoy me by the end of the book.

Jim Gordon is the first character to make a guest appearance in this volume of Batgirl. Here he is comming out to his daughter the he is the new Batman.  That look that Barbra has on her face in panel 6 pretty much sums up my feelings about the whole Gordan as Batman storyline.
Image1

A lot of the book has scenes like this with Batgirl interacting with one of the many side characters.  It feels like she flirts with every guy in her social circle.

Image2

This is the first time Dick Grayson makes an appearance in this volume.  He disguises himself and she doesn’t know it’s him.  Her eyeing his butt up as he’s leaving is I guess some sort of homage to Midnighter saying that he can identify him by his rear over in the main Grayson title.  The art here is less annoying looking than the other art in the book.

Image3

Here’s another guest appearance this time by the girls from Gotham Academy.  I hate the way Batgirl looks here.  To me it’s like a deformed disney princess look.

Image4

I obtained an advance readers digital copy of this book through NetGalley’s Read to Review program.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

