The Adventures of Basil and Moebius, Volume 3: Secret of the Ancients by Magnetic Press Inc

The Adventures of Basil and Moebius, Volume 3: Secret of the AncientsThe Adventures of Basil and Moebius, Volume 3: Secret of the Ancients by Magnetic Press Inc

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This is the story of two guys that have somehow become enslaved via mystical tattoos to a shape shifting tentacle monster from another dimension called The Collector. The Collector has been sending them around to steal ancient artifacts around the globe for some reason they don’t know about. They aren’t too keen on being slaves so are actively trying to find out what he’s up to so they can free themselves from his control.

I thought the story was pretty interesting it has a bit of an Indiana Jones / National Treasure vibe to it. I haven’t read the first two volumes so I can’t say how this flows out of those but I was able to follow the story without feeling confused.

The art is well done, consistent, finely detailed and vibrantly colored. My only real complaint about the book is the feeling that a lot of the dialog is a bit over the top. The guys are supposed to be from the UK, I think and something about it felt off to me. Other than that it’s a fun story if you are interested in pulp horror adventure stories.

I had intended to add a few art samples but wordpress doesn’t seem to be working right for me at the moment.

I selected this book from NetGalley’s Read it Now selections in exchange for my feedback and a review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

