Crafting Update: Marvel T-Shirt

I’ve got a pretty big stack of superhero shirts that need a little love and attention before I can wear them out.  This one is a rag bag find and was headed to the dumpster before I rescued it.  I’ll admit it looked pretty hopeless when I first got it but I wanted to see if I could fix it or not.  I probably should have taken a pic of it in it’s original condition for comparison but I didn’t think about it at the time.

This is was it looked like after I ran it through a heavy duty bleach session and dried it.  It cleaned up pretty well!  However it did have a bit of that dingy white look to it that old white t-shirts get.

20160205_101019.jpg

So I decided to tie dye it.  So what do you think?  Do you like the effect of the blue dye? I think it really makes the graphic pop out now.  I had originally thought to use a few different colors but after I got this done I think I’m just going to keep it simple with only the blue.  I’m going to make some alterations to the neckline and sleeves I think — maybe it will become a tank top when I’m completely finished with it.

20160212_114858.jpg

If you are interested in a similar project here are a few tips:

  • Cotton and other natural fibers will dye much easier that poly blends.
  • Don’t waste your money on expensive dyes if you have a Dollar Tree in your area: look for these 3 packs of fabric paint.  I used one tube of blue paint dissolved in 1 cup of hot water to dye my shirt.
  • Before you set the dye you must let the shirt completely dry.
  • Before you wash it for the first time don’t forget to set the dye for 24 hours in a container big enough to hold your shirt without too much wasted space.  I used a 2 liter pitcher with a solution of 1/3 of a cup of white vinegar;  1/3 of a cup of salt; and enough water to cover the shirt.

20160212_115146.jpg

Leave a Reply

