Kaptara, Vol. 1: Fear Not, Tiny Alien by Chip Zdarsky

Kaptara, Vol. 1: Fear Not, Tiny AlienKaptara, Vol. 1: Fear Not, Tiny Alien by Chip Zdarsky

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

What did I just read? Uck. I didn’t like this. The description of this book said:

“Keith Kanga crash lands on KAPTARA, a world filled with danger and weird danger and dangerous weirdos! And if he can’t survive, then Earth, the place where YOU live, is doomed! Come check out this sci-fi comedy from Chip Zdarsky (SEX CRIMINALS) and Kagan McLeod (Infinite Kung-Fu). Collects KAPTARA #1-5.”

I’m not sure what I was expecting but it wasn’t this 1984-Saturday-Morning-Cartoons-on-Crack-Pink-and-Purple-Furies-Abound-Story. I don’t really know what else to call it, but mostly it reminds me of like a really crappy version of He-Man and the Masters of the Universe.

And I didn’t find it funny. I didn’t even smile once. I’m sure that my overall expression was one of distaste. In the end I guess I’ll just say that this is just not my thing.

A few page samples so you can see the art style:

This is Keith, starting to feel guilty I guess.

Image2

Keith meeting the Queen in her throne room.

Image3

Cover showing I guess what could be  considered the adventuring party.

Image4

I obtained this book through NetGalley’s Read It Now program at first but I also own a digital copy that was included in Humble Comics Bundle Image Featuring Creators Own Worlds.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

