Rat Queens Deluxe Edition Volume 1

Rat Queens Deluxe Edition Volume 1Rat Queens Deluxe Edition Volume 1 by Kurtis J. Wiebe

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Well, my feelings about this one are pretty meh. I liked the art, and that’s the primary reason I’m even giving it two stars. The art is cute and the character designs are interesting. Also the action scenes are well done.

Several friends had given this good reviews so I wanted to give it a chance but I just couldn’t find anything to really like about the story or writing.

To start, I don’t find this book funny at all. If I had so sum it up I’d call it crude or immature. I found the characters to be annoying and I didn’t like any of them so I couldn’t really care what happened to them. I think it’s the overwhelming sense of smugness that oozes out of each of the main characters, that really started to grind my gears.

It’s a 300 page long graphic novel, and yet it feels as if it’s filled with nothing. There’s no epic quest to be found in these pages. It’s just page after page of them acting out the most shallow collage age drama scenes in a medieval fantasy setting. I was bored by all of it.

At this point I’m just glad I was finally able to push through it and get it off of my NetGalley list. I obtained a copy of this book through their read and review program.  No images to share because of the amount of profanity, nudity, and general crudeness contained within.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

