Damsels #1-4

Damsels_1coverSo I started reading Damsels tonight instead of working on my NaNoWriMo entry…  I am a naughty girl like that.

Ok, so what I’ve got out of the first four issues is that basically these three witches have somehow taken the place of three fairytale princesses, Rapunzel, Sleeping Beauty, and Beauty from Beauty and the Beast, respectively.  What the three witches are ultimately up to isn’t exactly clear but the little mermaid seems to know something and is out to foil their plans.  She enlists the help of an amnesic girl called Rapa [I think that’s a cute name.] who Is supposed to be the real Rapunzel.

I enjoy fairy tales and their retellings so story wise this is right up my alley.  I’m finding the story to be good fun and interesting enough.  It’s hard to say how original the story is at this point but it’s told in a way that keep me reading straight through.

I think the art is really pretty, and I like the character designs, especially how some of the character’s hair is drawn.

There was one blight on this goodness though, and it’s a nitpick that might not bother you, but it did me.  That is what I consider to be an exceptionally poor choice in huge yellow lettering that seems to be used throughout all the issues I read.  It bugs me for a few reasons.  One, yellow lettering is hard for me to read.  Two, yellow lettering looks good against blue/green/violet but most of what it was used on was gold/brown so it just blends right in.  Three, to compensate for the blending they used a large font and it takes up and crowds the lovely artwork.  I think it’s poorly done.  Another note about this lettering is a general lack of consistency on where they stuck it,  It’s kind of all over the place in some parts and there is no consistency in alignment of the text.  I think it makes a otherwise professional book look somewhat amateurish.  Here’s one page from issue #2 that has that lettering on it:

Damsels_2

Do you think it looks good? Yay or Nay?

I like the portrait of The Twelve Dancing Princesses in the middle of this page from issue #3.  It made me want to know their stories.

Damsels_3And there is a tad of humor in there too like this part from issue #4 where Rapa can’t quite make herself kiss the frogman:

Damsels_4

More on this series soon.

Leave a Reply

