Posted in Uncategorized

Titans Volume 1: The Return of Wally West by Dan Abnett, Brett Booth

31224404

Titans, Volume 1: The Return of Wally WestTitans, Volume 1: The Return of Wally West by Dan Abnett

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This volume collects TITANS #1-6 and TITANS: REBIRTH #1; and picks up from DC Comics Rebirth and directly follows the Titan’s Hunt miniseries.

Wally West [A Flash, not The Flash], has reunited the Titans; and now that the bands back together they want to know who or what it was that stole their time and memories.

With little to go on Arsenal and Donna, put boots to the ground in Gotham tying to shake some info loose from petty drug dealers; while Lilith probes Wally’s mind with the hopes of uncovering some hint of what happened. She unwitting awakens… Abra Kadabra; an old Flash villain. What could he possibly have to do with what happened to Wally West?

Wally West and Linda Park [His wife in the previous timeline.] are the primary focus of this volume and most of the other Titans are just kind of background characters in this story. However the feeling of old Titans books are back and will feel quite familiar to long time readers of these characters.

I really don’t suggest this book as a jumping on point if you have no prior Titan’s knowledge. Even though this is the first volume of the main series you really need to read Titans Hunt prior to reading this one.

As for the art, here’s a page from issue #1.  [I actually heard someone saying that this art was ugly and made the book “unreadable“.  By what asinine fanboy standards I’m not sure. ] But it doesn’t matter what he thinks because I love it; and I’m really happy to see the Titans back together and working like a family team that actually cares about each other.

image1

And here’s a sample page from issue #3 featuring the villian Kadabra.

image2

View all my reviews on Goodreads.

Author:

I've been reading and collecting comics since the early 1980's. My absolute favorite comic characters are Dick Grayson, and Kitty Pryde, but I like lots of others too! I started collecting single issue comics when I was about 7 or 8 years old and it's been a lifelong passion of mine.

Leave a comment